Summer Vegan Potato Salad

Scary as it is summer is only in a couple of months. Summer means delicious fruit, refreshing salads, christmas, roadtrips and of course hanging at the beach and getting up to all sorts of mischief πŸ˜›

I can tell it’s almost summer not only because the calendar tells me so but because the weather is getting warmer and I crave lettuce non-stop. No jokes! We went on a road trip last weekend to explore the South Island a bit more and I ate a whole head of lettuce because lettuce is AMAZBALLS. So if you’re like me and obsessed then get your teeth into the scrumptious salad.

Hypocritical as it seems I can be quite picky with salads. I like them to be different and exciting and more than just tomatoes, cucumber and lettuce. By addingΒ potatoes and sweet potato the salad gains a bit more substance, making it a perfect meal. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. I didn’t think it was going to be as good as it was, so I may have ended up eating it for lunch three days in a row (please don’t judge me… hahaha).

I used Iceberg lettuce because it is super refreshing, but feel free to use whatever you’re vibing at the moment. I had made some beetroot hummus a couple of days earlier so that’s what I used but you can easily use any kind of hummus πŸ™‚

IMG_8151
mmm I love colour πŸ™‚
IMG_8155
Steaming the Potatoes
IMG_8157
Veges waiting for the potatoes
IMG_8159
Hummus time πŸ˜›
IMG_8160
All mixed and ready to meet the other veges
IMG_8162
Finished πŸ™‚

Summer Vegan Potato Salad

Serves 2-4 depending on whether being eaten as a side dish or a meal.

Ingredients

  • 1 Medium Potato (washed and diced)
  • 1 Medium Kumara/Sweet Potato (washed and diced)
  • 3/4 cup of lettuce of choice (roughly chopped and washed)
  • 1/2 Medium Cucumber (sliced)
  • Handful of Snow Peas (about 20 sliced)
  • 2 little beetroot (cooked and sliced)
  • 2 Radishes (sliced)
  • 1 Orange (diced)
  • 2 Tbsp hummus of choice

Method

  1. Steam diced potatos and kumara until soft. The smaller you cut it the faster it will cook.
  2. While the potatoes are cooking, prepare all the other veges and mix them in a large serving dish. I always use the same dish that I’m going to be serving it in to save dishes.
  3. Once the potatoes are cooked, place them in a bowl and mix in the hummus. Toss coated potatoes through other veges and serve.
Leave a Reply

